Wellington soul singer, songwriter Louis Baker has made quite a recognisable name for himself across the globe with his compelling blend of Motown and RnB. His latest single ‘Addict’ is a sensual, slow groove number now sporting a highly complimentary visual accompaniment. Returning to Australia this month, you can catch the exquisite ache of Louis Baker live with his full band when he plays intimate Melbourne and Sydney shows that are not to be missed.

What was the inspiration behind the video for ‘Addict?
For as long as I can remember, i’ve had a fascination with the city of New York. After recording ‘Addict’ and listening back I thought it had a certain smokey sonic to it. I imagined that if I were to do a video clip in the future, that it would have the lead role play an observer of some kind. It was Shae Sterling’s idea to shoot it in NYC, and as we both love american culture, and the work of Coppola and Scorsese, this inspired the direction of the cinematography and vision for our collaboration.

For your previous single ‘Gave it all away’ you put out an electronic, and an acoustic version of the song, what inspired you to record different versions?
I am in love with many different types and genres of music. Dance music is one of them. Initially I had a house demo of the song where I’d played the bass, keys, guitars and vocals. I wanted it mixed, and thought Mu (Producer / Fat Freddy’s Drop) might be keen to do that. I am a huge fan of his work, and of Fat Freddy’s. It turned out that he really felt the song, and wanted to produce it in his own way. I was blown away by thought of this, and so proceeded to move forward with two versions.

Are there any plans to release alternate versions of ‘Addict’?
There’s something in the pipeline…

You’ve now released two singles this year, are there any plans for an album release?
For the last two years I’ve had my head down writing a lot of songs with some amazing songwriters from all over the world. I look forward to releasing these on an album in the next year.

You’ll be touring Australia soon, what can fans expect from your show?
I’ll be playing Melbourne at The Grace Darling on Sept 20th, and Sydney at The Oxford Arts Factory on Sept 21st. I think people can expect to be taken on a journey, and hear some honest art.
You’ve had over 7.5 million streams on Spotify for your music, does this make you feel any pressure when making new music?
Sometimes I feel like I can be over sensitive, and really care about what people think of my music, and then at other times, I couldn’t care less. What can I say? I’m only human. It ebbs and flows.

What is the music scene like in Wellington?
Wellington is melting pot of talent. We have some great songwriters and players here.

When writing, what comes first the words or the music?
No real formula for me.

Do you ever listen to your own music?
At times I do. Either to analyze, learn and upskill, or to understand what I was feeling at that particular time in my life when it was recorded.

What other music do you listen to?
Listening a lot to – Anderson Paak, Gang Starr, Jose James, Leon Bridges, Fink, Chopin, D’Angelo, and Herbie Hancock.

What do you have planned after your upcoming tour?
Make great music. Meet great people. Record my album. Keep enjoying life. Laugh!

 

Louis Baker Australian Tour Dates
Melbourne
The Grace Darling Hotel
Wednesday 20 September
Support: TBA
Tickets on sale now via Eventbrite

Sydney
Oxford Art Factory, Gallery Bar
Thursday 21 September
Support: TBA
Tickets on sale now via Moshtix

Check out Louis Baker’s website to find out more!

 

 

