20140321-210515.jpg

Fait is Perth based multi instrumentalist Elise Higgins, about to release her debut EP brining in her own style of instrumental rock. Tomatrax caught up with Fait to ask a few questions.

What made you want to become a musician?
Well I was learning the piano from the age of 7, then went to my first ever concert (Pearl Jam) at 13 and my mind was blown. Suddenly I wanted to play guitar. It also spawned an unhealthy obsession with Eddie Vedder that lasted throughout my teens.
I didn’t actually think about playing in a band until my guitar teacher convinced me to play in a cover band when I was about 16. That didn’t last long, but it did whet my appetite for playing live. I then decided to have a crack at writing original music.

When did you write your first song?
I wrote my first song at about 17/ 18. It was ok. It probably took me a good 5 years to work out what my ‘sound’ was. That came about when I started using the software Logic to write and record. That opened up a whole new world for me. I could now experiment with a tonne of different instruments and layer them all together.

Where did the name Fait come from?
It was actually a suggestion from my sister. I liked fait because it was short and to the point, plus no one else had it which is rare these days! It’s also a little nod to Curve’s track Fait Accompli – Doppelgänger is one of my favourite albums and I was fortunate enough to work with Dean Garcia when I was living in London, which was amazing.

What made you choose a stage name rather than using your own name?
Well, I don’t think Elise Higgins is a particularly exciting name…

You play a number of instruments, do you have a favorite instrument to play?
I’m classically trained in piano and have played guitar for years, so through that I can also pick up a bass guitar if I have to. But if I were to choose one…I probably couldn’t!

Is there any instrument you’ve wanted to play but haven’t yet?
Yes, drums. I’d love to learn the cello too.

What’s it like to play every instrument in your song?
I didn’t. Whilst I wrote the songs, I didn’t play the bass or live drums for the recording. Instead I had two very talented musician friends come in to play the parts and put their own spin on it. Aside from that, I played everything else you hear on the tracks.

What made you choose to write instrumentals?
It was by default! Prior to fait, I moved to London, wrote a bunch of tracks and formed a band with every intention of getting a singer. After a couple of months of fruitless endeavours, we just decided to progress as an instrumental band. I then grew to love it and didn’t see the need to have a vocalist. When I moved back to Perth and found myself struggling to find musicians to play with, I decided to form a solo project, fait, and record an EP.

Are there any plans to add vocals to any of your songs?
I’m not actively seeking it, but if the right voice or melody came around then I’d definitely consider it.

What made you pick Slow Glow as your debut single?
I think it’s probably the most commercially viable one of the lot. It’s my attempt at a ‘dance’ song.

You will have your debut EP out soon, how will the rest of the EP compare to Slow Glow?
It’s quite varied. Each song has a different mood and intensity. They all take you on some form of journey though.

Do you ever listen to your own music?
Yes, I listen to it when I’m thinking about how to adapt the songs to a live setting, or if I’m imagining visuals or lighting for it. Stuff like that.

What other music do you listen to?
I tend to listen to a lot of British music. My all time favourites are The Cure and PJ Harvey. I also love atmospheric electronic music, like Mount Kimbie, Seekae, Bonobo, HTRK, Aphex Twin etc

What do you plan on doing once the EP is out?
Well I am already working on the live show with 3 brilliant Perth musicians. I wasn’t sure how it was going to work in a live setting considering these are all studio songs with multiple layers….but it’s actually coming together really quickly. I’m really excited to debut it all live in the next couple of months. A tour would be nice too!

Check out fait’s Unearthed page to find out more!

