???????????????????????????????

Molly Contogeorge is an up and coming solo musician from Sydney, who has already been met with widespread critical acclaim! She has just released her third EP, Dames putting forward her own brand of jazzy pop! Tomatrax spoke to Molly about her music.

What made you want to become a musician?

It probably had a lot to do with the influence of my family. I grew up in a musical household in Sydney’s east where both my parents were musicians, songwriters and music tutors. My dad was born in Greece and migrated with his family to the beachside suburb of Coogee where my grandparents established a small music school. Somehow, they managed to squeeze five kids, two adults and two teaching rooms into a three bedroom house. My dad was a bit of a rascal and left school as a teenager to help with the family business. This was just as well because some twenty years later my mum swanned in through the front door looking to start her career in music and he was there to greet her.

When did you write your first song?

Officially, I wrote my first song Little Girl when I was eleven years old. Un-officially? That would be As The Rooster Crows which I wrote at the age of ten with my best friend. Here’s a brilliant little snippet from verse two:

“Milking the cows, feeding them grass.
Jobs to do round the house,
Things to grow, things to pick.”

Yeah, I’m pretty sure the only things we were picking in those days were our noses.

It there any reason you play solo rather than as part of a band?

Despite being a solo artist, I still get to work with wonderfully talented musicians. I think they call that having your cake and eating it too.

You’ve just put out your third EP, are there any plans to do a full length album?

Yes, there’s definitely an album in the pipeline! Ah, but if only money grew on trees…


What made you pick Dames as the title track of your latest EP?

Dames is about a riffraff of kick-arse women all trying (rather vainly) to navigate their way through the rigours of life, love and all that falls in-between. At some point in our lives we’ve all played the role of shrinking violet, queen bee or pretty little maid and with a title track like Dames I’m proud to pay homage to the weird, the wacky, the beautiful and the fierce.


Who are the people on the front cover of the EP?
From left to right: Cheryl Coal, Rita Halfwit, Lucy Loo and Roxy (hey boys, she’ll try anything once.)

 You’ve already received a lot of critical acclaim for your work, has this made you feel any pressure in putting your latest EP together?

I’m an “indie” artist which means that I’m entirely self-funded as well as being self-produced, self-managed, self-stylised, self-publicised and to top it all off self-critical. The only pressure I’ll ever allow myself to feel is the pressure I heap on myself. It’s no secret to those who know me that I’m a bit of stress-head, but that’s what you get for living on a knife’s edge.

You were selected to write a chapter in the book “Who Needs a Prince Charming?” how did that come about?

I met the author Amanda Cole at a gig I was playing at the Basement in Sydney during 2008.    We chatted briefly about my music and the upcoming release of her debut novel I Hate Cinderella. A few years later I received a Facebook message from Amanda asking if I’d be interested in contributing to her newest project, Who Needs Prince Charming? WNPC is a self-realisation book for women and includes contributions from designer Camilla Franks, radio and television personality Maude Garrett and former A&R Manager at Universal Music, Jess Beston.

 Are there any plans to write your own novel?

Well, I do have this one great idea for a novel. It’s about a teenage boy with a mysterious scar on his forehead and a penchant for magic. I think it might’ve been done before though.

Do you ever listen to your own music?

As a general rule I try not to over play my own stuff.

What music do you listen to?

The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Johnny Cash, Bob Dylan, The Band, Dusty Springfield, Cilla Black, Earth, Wind & Fire, Sly and the family stone, Curtis Mayfield, Michael Jackson, Nick Cave, Tom Waits, Jack White, John Legend, Jamie Cullum, Amy Winehouse, Clairy Browne & the Bangin’ Rackettes.

Now that your latest EP is out what do you plan on doing next?

At the moment I’m in the midst of planning a tour (East coast) in promotion of Dames. I’ve also got a video clip in the works for my first single off the EP. You can expect to see boys dressed as girls and plenty of really bad dancing.

Check out Molly’s Facebook or Unearthed page to find out more.

