vancouver-sleep-clinic

Vancouver Sleep Clinic is the brainchild of Brisbane’s Tim Bettinson. Having just released his debut single Vapour he already been met with wide spread critical acclaim including being listed as an Unearthed High Finalist. Tomatrax spoke to Tim about his music.

What made you want to become a musician?

I’ve always grown up with instruments all over the house; and my dad had me growing up on The Eagles and Fleetwood Mac my whole childhood. I suppose the turning point was when I first heard Bon Iver’s “For Emma, Forever Ago” and Sigur Ros’ “Valtari”. When I saw the emotional connection these artists were making with listeners around the world; I knew that this is what I wanted to do.

 

When did you write your first song?

When I was around 12; on the piano. I don’t even want to recall what it was about. Haha.

 
Where did the name Vancouver Sleep Clinic come from?
 

When I first starting writing for this project; I felt like it could be the type of atmospheric music that people could fall asleep to. Thus the Sleep Clinic part. Vancouver looks like a beautiful place and I thought it would be perfect to add at the front for originality and experimentation.

 
 

What made you choose to perform under an alias rater than your name?

I really want this to evolve into something that’s more than myself! My dream is to be playing with a 10 piece band in forests, castles or canyons – anything cool! Making music has never been about me placing myself in any spotlight; it’s about giving people a collective experience.

 

You’ve just been announced as an Unearthed High finalist, has this had any impact on your music’s exposure?

It’s been absolutely crazy. I’m still overwhelmed daily by all the people letting me know how my music has impacted them! So thankful to Triple J for the support.

 

What made you pick Vapour as the Unearthed submission?

It was actually the first song I’d written for the project; and everything about it felt like a perfect representation of my cause and my vision for writing music.

 

Are there any plans to release an album?

I’m looking at putting out a follow up single in the next month or so; and then an EP before the end of the year! Really exciting times.

 
When writing what comes first, the words or the music?
 

It’s funny; my maths workbook is usually filled with lyrics that I write whilst staring out the window in class; and then I have musical parts I fiddle around with at home – and  somehow they generally tend to fit together perfectly!

 

What was the first album you owned?

Wow, that’s tracking back a bit. I bought my very first album when I was around 6 years old. It was by a band called Switchfoot and the album was called ‘Meant to Live.’

 

Do you ever listen to your own music?

Way too much, unfortunately. I’m the sort of person that will listen to my own stuff over and over again and force myself to find every single little flaw in it to fix up. I listen to it through different speakers, at different times and in different moods to make sure it’s perfect in my eyes from every possible place.

What other music do you listen to?

I love so many different types of music. When I’m writing I actually stay away from a lot of my favourite music (Daughter, Sigur Ros, James Blake, Bon Iver, Fleet Foxes, The Middle East, Grizzly Bear, Art of Sleeping) and enjoy listening to totally different styles. It generally surprises people that I’m actually a bit of a sucker for hardcore as well!

 

What is planned for Vancouver Sleep Clinic next?

Really exciting times ahead for this project! I’ve just found my feet under management and am now looking towards my first live show on the 30th of August supporting The Trouble With Templeton; and then a new release!

 
Check out Vancouver Sleep Clinic’s Facebook or Unearthed page to find out more.
