This is the debut album from the Icelandic duo of Plastik Joy’s Fannar Ásgrímsson  Plastik and Ruxpin’s Jónas Thór Guðmundsson. The music has a very ambient feel with relaxing vibes that will take you away to a distant land. There is a heap of atmosphere that gently surrounds the listener as they drift away. This is enhanced by the often dreamy vocals that gently lull you in.

The album opens with the very ambient and dreamy On the other side. The tune has a very relaxing feel while taking the listener to a place far far away. The music is complemented by some lovely vocals courtesy of Olèna Simon. Forgotten is an chilled out instrumental reminiscent of Mike Oldfield’s more recent work with various vibes being held together by a solid drum machine beat. Expectations is a laid back electronic/pop tune sounding like a slowed down and chilled version of the Pet Shop Boys. What we have done (silence is golden) is a cool, poppy tune that has a slight 80s vibe to it in the vein of Depeche Mode or Flock of Seaguls. Part of your plan is a chilled trip-hop offering complete with drum loops and scratches, sounding like an even more laid back version of Massive Attack. The album closes with a great contrast in the form of the lively Cycle Starts Over.

This is a mighty collection of chilled out tunes! Along with the dreamy ambiance is an abundance of colourful and creative sounds ensuring that the drifting journey is an interesting one! If you are feeling stressed or tense this is the perfect album to wind down to!


Check out the band’s website to find out more!